top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Presland

THE AMAZON BOYCOTT: Where to purchase cheap books outside of Amazon





Recently, I watched the documentary “Amazon Empire: The Rise and Reign of Jeff Bezos”. On top of learning about the lack of respect, poor wages and horrendous working conditions that Amazon employees face, I was also struck by the mention of book sales through the platform.


It is stated in the documentary that Amazon has a larger variety of books on sale than any other outlet in the world. Inevitably, this means that a huge portion of Amazon’s revenue comes from books. Free postage and fast delivery can pretty much draw anyone in - add cheap prices and new deals every single day and you have a book lover’s paradise.


Most of us, including me, are guilty of tapping into the ease of Amazon purchasing. Although, in 2021 I have begun to make an active effort to ease my way into more ethical shopping. I buy A LOT of books, and I think my conscience has finally gotten the better of me.


I have compiled a list of online outlets available to buy second-hand, good quality books. They have all been tried and tested by me, so you can jump straight in without any worries.




1. FACEBOOK MARKETPLACE:




I’ve put this one at the top because it’s probably the most obvious one that people often forget about. Obviously, unlike Amazon, you can’t search for a title you’d like and find a guaranteed result. But, there are so many other benefits to book shopping on Facebook.


1. Personally, some of the best books I’ve read have been those I had never heard of before and picked up at whim. Facebook Marketplace is great for browsing and an opportunity to find something you wouldn’t have seen on Amazon’s bestsellers list.


2. Pretty much all sellers will let you collect new books from their home, meaning you still aren’t paying any delivery fees. Admittedly, this is more likely to be a benefit in Guernsey more than other places, as pretty much everywhere is right on your doorstep.


3. It’s CHEAP! Most recently, I bought three books for £3 from a lovely lady on Facebook. Before that, I got two new releases for £2 from another seller.




2. ABEBOOKS




This is one I have only recently discovered, thanks to Jack Edwards on YouTube. It is made up of independent stores and individuals selling used books. You can find pretty much anything on there, apart from maybe some more-recently published books. I ordered ‘Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe’ by Fannie Flagg to trial the site and it didn’t disappoint. My expected delivery date was in 2-3 weeks time, which I was fine with, but four days later it arrived. The book was in good condition with a cover I’d never seen before, which was an added bonus. Also, depending on the seller, there are quite often free postage options. AbeBooks is a great site for supporting independent businesses during the pandemic too!




3. DEPOP




Depop is good for much more than just vintage clothes. I was surprised to find that there is a massive range of books available, particularly in bundle deals. Unfortunately, you may not always be able to find the exact book you’re looking for, but the good thing is that sellers are constantly posting new items, so it’s good to keep an eye out anyway. Depop sellers do usually charge a postage fee, but more often than not, the whole purchase will still be cheaper than other places. Depop is also a great place to find rare or signed copies if that’s something you’re interested in!



4. BOOK SWAP CENTRAL





This is something I came across totally by accident. It is a Facebook page with thousands of members, solely dedicated to swapping books with other readers in the UK. People will post images of books they’d like to swap and you can offer a book you’re willing to swap with them. The great thing is, the only cost is the price to post your book to your recipient. I have seen books being swapped that have been published just weeks earlier, and getting a hold of them for just a few pounds is an absolute bargain!



5. WORLDOFBOOKS




This site is particularly special in my opinion because of its heartwarming backstory. A group of book lovers spotted a sack of books in a charity shop destined for the landfill. They then decided to take it upon themselves to give as many books as possible a second lease on life. The site stocks over 5 million books, ranging from rare books to bestsellers, and all at cheap prices with free shipping! In my experience, delivery times have been a little long, but it is so, so worth it. Currently, WorldOfBooks has books by LGBTQ+ authors and black authors in its focus, meaning your custom is supporting the inclusivity of minority authors.



56 views0 comments
bottom of page